Cayson Blake

LG-8-867.10.full

Baby Beiler #4, Cayson Blake, made a fast and furious entrance into the world on January 20, 2014!  He was by far the fastest of my four labors.

My whole pregnancy I had been dreading week 38, the week we lost Cohen.  Even the days of the week were the same for both pregnancies, I turned 38 weeks on a Saturday for both.  The weeks leading up to week 38 were awful.  I was an emotional wreck.  I cried, a lot.  I didn’t want to see anyone or talk to people.  It was too hard.  Hard to act excited when really I was terrified.  Hard to go out and even have strangers ask about when I was due or how much longer I had.  So I stayed in, pretty much only going out to pick Cole up from school and to take and pick up Carson from school.  I begged and pleaded with God to please please please let me have this baby before I hit 38 weeks.  I begged the doctor to induce me.  He wouldn’t but he did strip my membranes which I was convinced would put me in labor.   It didn’t which caused even more tears.  One night I even had contractions all night every ten minutes only to have them stop in the morning.  I was a frantic mess.

Then week 38 came.  I broke down.  I cried.  I yelled at God.

Then came Monday, 38 weeks and 2 days.  I am sure that Cohen died that night because it was the next day, Tuesday, that he didn’t move all day.  I was panicked.  I had a doctor’s appointment that morning.  I went in and everything was good.  I asked the doctor if I could please come back the next day, just to hear the heartbeat, just to make sure.  He told me I could come in everyday if I wanted to.  He still wouldn’t induce me despite my many tears.  He offered to strip my membranes again but I had already had it done twice and nothing happened so I said no.  I ask him if he had any suggestions of a way to naturally induce labor.  He gave me a suggestion and I went home ready to try it.

I got home and sat around for a while feeling sorry for myself.  Feeling mad that nothing had worked to start labor.  Feeling mad that God hadn’t started labor for me.

My mom was there to watch Cole and Carson while I went to the doctor.  She was getting ready to leave and I ask her if she thought I should give what the doctor suggested a shot.  She said I might as well try while she was still there so that if it did work she wouldn’t go all the way home just to have to come back again.

So I went in to my bedroom and dug out my breast pump.  I pumped for 15 minutes on each side.  In the middle of the pumping my husband came home from work and ask what in the world I was doing.  I told him I was trying to get this baby to come, NOW!

By the time I was done I was having contractions every five minutes.  I didn’t think I was really in labor.  I figured I would have contractions for an hour but they would stop.  In less than an hour the contractions were coming two minutes apart.  My mom and Crist insisted that I call the doctor and at least go in to be checked.  I called the office and they said that since I had only been having contractions for about an hour that I could either stay home, take a shower, walk around, and see if the contractions continued or I could come in to the office (which was the opposite way from the hospital) and be checked there.  Since Crist and my mom were glaring at me I decided I better go in and get checked.

On the way to the doctor the contractions continued to come every two minutes.  We got to the doctor’s office and of course had to wait because we didn’t have an appointment.  We waited there for almost an hour an a half before the doctor finally came and checked me.  By that time the contractions were coming almost every minute and they hurt…….BAD!  The doctor came and said that I was only 4 cm dilated but that the head was super low.  He told us to head to the hospital and that he thought we would have this baby by midnight at the latest.  It was about 6:50 then so I figured we had plenty of time.  I would get there get an epidural, have some time to think and relax, and then in a few hours push and have our baby boy.

It takes about 30 minutes to get to the hospital from the doctor’s office.  My husband drove like a crazy person.  On the way there the contractions started coming even more frequently and they were way more intense!  I was in serious pain.  When I am in pain and in labor I get really hot and when I get really hot I pass out and throw up.  I felt this coming on so I opened the window (it was only about 16 degrees that night).  We were driving through the city and there were people out and I was screaming in pain.  I have no idea what those people thought and quite frankly at that point I did not care.  All I cared about at that point was getting to the hospital and getting some pain medication!

About half way there my husband, who hadn’t eaten most of the day, thought he would be funny and turned to me and said, “Can I stop at McDonald’s?”  After I nearly bit his head off with my screamed, “NO!,” he claimed he was joking but I still think he was serious.

We finally got to the hospital and they didn’t have any wheelchairs.  By this point I couldn’t walk and every time I moved another contraction came.  Crist pulled up to the door and by that time the hospital staff had found a wheelchair.  The put me in it and wheeled me back.  I signed a few papers and they rushed me to a room.  Crist left to park the car.

The nurses who pushed me to the room asked where my husband was.  I said he went to park the car but all I really cared about was getting an epidural.  I told them I wanted one, NOW!!  They looked at me and said that I had to get checked first.

Then my dear friend who is a Labor and Delivery nurse came in the room.  She was there the night that Cohen was born and I told her that if she was working when I came in I wanted her to be my nurse.  I was so happy to see her!  I begged her for an epidural.  She told me I had to wait for the doctor to come check me.

My beautiful friend and nurse

My beautiful friend and nurse

My husband got back to the room and the doctor came.  He checked me and I was 7 cm.  It had been less than an hour since I had been checked at the office!  Things were moving along a little fast for me and I was still begging for an epidural.  While he was checking me my water broke.  They told me I didn’t have time for an epidural.  I turned to my friend and said, “You don’t understand I want an epidural.  I don’t want to do this without one.  Seriously you don’t understand I can’t.  I have to have one.”  The doctor checked me again about 3 minutes later and I was at 9 cm.  The nurses had taken off the heart monitor and the doctor asked for a heart rate.  They couldn’t find it right away which caused me to panic!

At this point I was frantic.  This was not at all how I pictured my labor and everything was going way too fast.  I pushed and his head was out!  The doctor told me not to push or I would rip.  He held my baby’s head so that it wouldn’t come out anymore, with me yelling the whole time that I needed to push.  Finally he told me I could push again and with one more push Cayson Blake was born. We were in the delivery room for a total of 11 minutes!

2014-01-20 23.04.51

I had unintentionally had a completely natural birth.  I felt like a warrior!  Katy Perry’s song, “Eye of the Tiger,” kept running through my head.  I’m surprised I didn’t roar 🙂

2014-01-21 18.01.20

2014-01-20 23.06.06

Cayson weighed 7 lbs 7 oz and was 21 inches long.  His labor was by far my shortest labor only lasting 3 and a half hours.  He was perfect!

My doctor, the one who delivered Carson and Cohen and was supposed to deliver Cole but he was on vacation that week, arrived at the hospital about 5 to 10 minutes after Cayson was born.  He was shocked that the baby was already born!

Snuggling with Cohen's bear

Snuggling with Cohen’s bear

LG-8-867.19.full (2)

 

My mom, Cole, and Carson came to meet Cayson about an hour after he was born.  Carson danced around the delivery room singing, “We get to keep this baby! We get to take him home!  We get to keep this baby!  We get to take him home!” It was a very emotional time for us, feeling happy that we have this new baby to love but missing Cohen so so much.

IMG_2896

Cayson had a lot of fluid so he spent his first night in the nursery being monitored.  His oxygen levels were good so he was able to spend the rest of the time at the hospital in the room with us. When we left the hospital he weighed 7 lbs 2 oz but was eating well.

2014-01-28 11.13.36

His first week at home was very emotional.  I was feeling like I had to choose between Cayson and Cohen, to love one meant I didn’t love the other.  It was so hard.  There were so many tears those first weeks.

2014-01-22 19.56.33 2014-01-31 11.54.03-2

Cole and Carson adore Cayson.  The first week home they constantly wanted to snuggle, kiss, and be with him.  They still love being with him!

We took Cayson to his one week appointment.  They said everything looked good.  His heart and lungs sounded good.  He had gained weight and was now up to 7 lbs 4 oz.  We took him home thinking we had a perfectly healthy baby boy.  We would soon find out that he wasn’t as healthy as we thought.

To Be Continued………..

One comment on “Cayson Blake

  1. It was thrilling to read this and hear the story again. It got my heart racing just thinking about that fast labor!! I look forward to hearing the rest of the story.

    Rebekah Hoffer SimplyRebekah.com ~ Frugal, Green & Life in Between

Leave a Reply

